Physical Therapy & Communication Disorders - Home

This guide is meant to help you navigate the relevant resources that are available to you in physical therapy and communicaion disorders.

Health Sciences & Professions Librarian

Hanna Schmillen
Alden Library- Room 206
Grover W123A on: Tuesdays 1-4pm (unless noted-starting May 31)
Skype Contact


ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.


This guide is designed by your librarian to highlight specific resources that are relevant to Rehab & Communication Studies as well as how searching tips to make your life easier.

You will find information on:

  • Relevant databases for your subject
    • PubMed, CINAHL, etc.
  • Useful, free resources that are available
  • Tips on how to search in databases like a pro
  • How to evaluate information

Organzie Your Resources! --> You will thank me later.

Use Zotero or another citation manger, I promise it will make your life much easier and you will thank yourself later. With Zotero you can easily collect citation information as you search and then pull it out later as you are reading and writing. It will also help you create citations, and it is free.

There are a couple ways to use Zotero on your computer:

  1. Via a Firefox extension--> this is what I (Hanna, the librarian) use and demo in class.
  2. Via Zotero Standalone and a browser connector (Safari, Chrome, Firefox) that will allow you to add content to Zotero. Note that Zotero does not support Internet Explorer. If you are a Safari or Chrome user, download the standalone and then add the connector for your browser. The files for the connectors are under the software downloads on Zotero's site. You can also find the Zotero Connector as an app in Chrome.
  3. Via their website, by logging and viewing your library but you have limited capability. --> I do not suggest this.

Once you have downloaded Zotero, you may have to go to your browser preferences to ensure the Zotero Icon will show on your bookmark toolbar. You will also have to sync your standalone with your connector by logging into your free Zotero account.

Alden Library hosts a variety of workshops and other Zotero tutorials to help you out. Here is a link to many options for help using Zotero.

Using the Zotero Microsoft Word Add-in tips and information.