Music Education - Start Here


Musical InstrumentsThis is an introductory Guide to library and online resources on Music Education. It is meant to serve as a starting point for research in Music; for in-depth guidance, see the information on the Contact/Need Help? page.

See also the list of Related Subject Guides below left.

The sources on this page should help you get started with your research. For more in-depth research, please explore the other pages in this Guide.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

Start with the two sources below and then go on to other pages in this Guide for additional sources.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford music onlineOxford Music Online is the gateway that incorporates the contents of several music reference resources in one place. It's a great place to get some background information on a person or a topic, as well as definitions of music terminology.

  • Grove Music Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Music
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music
  • Encyclopedia of Popular Music
  • The Grove Dictionary of American Music
  • The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
  • The New Grove Dictionary of Opera


ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.