Mathematics and Statistics - Start Here


Mathematics equations This Guide is an introduction to Alden Library's resources, both online and print, on Mathematics and Statistics. The sources on this page should help you get started with your research. For more in-depth research, please explore the other pages in this Guide.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

Start with MathSciNet and ArticlesPlus below and then go on to other pages in this Guide for additional information.


MathSciNet logoMathSciNet provides omprehensive coverage of research in mathematics and mathematically-related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines. Indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings and papers, and published dissertations. Includes reviews since 1980. To use MathSciNet most efficiently, start with the MathSciNet Tutorials.


ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.