This is the "Home" page of the "Legal Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This research guide includes major web and print resources for legal and legislative research.
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/legalresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

One of the best ways to begin legal research is to find a relevant law review article. Law review articles are written by professors, attorneys, and law school students. They are scholarly publications with many footnotes. By finding one good article, you will get a discussion and analysis of your topic and you will get references to pertinent cases, statutes and other law review articles. Use the Law Journal tab to get directions on how to find them.

General and Specialized Resources

  • LexisNexis Legal (part of LexisNexis Academic) (OU ONLY)
    Limited version of the full database. Legal option is on the top of the screen. "Law Reviews" indexes a number of key legal journals. Most of the indexed articles are relatively recent. For articles going further back, you may wish to visit Hein Online. For case documents, briefs, etc., go under “Federal & State Cases.”
  • Ohio Capitol Connection (OU ONLY)
    Updated daily, provides information about current and past legislation of the Ohio General Assembly. Includes news and updates on Ohio issues, biographies of the members, state budget information, executive and agency documents and more.
  • Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School
    Contains an enormous amount of legal information, organized in a very straightforward fashion. "Law by Source or Jurisdiction" lets you look for legal information at the federal, state and world level. You can also search for legal cases on specific topics under the "Law About . . ." tab. Constitutions and codes, U. S. Supreme Court, Federal and State Courts opinions and directories of lawyers, organizations and journals.
  • FindLaw for Legal Professionals | Law
    Provides a wide range of legal resources online for free. Includes federal and state cases and laws. The "Legal News" section is a good place to check if you are looking for a topic for your paper.
  • Foreign Law and Governments (Washburn University School of Law)
    Foreign and International Law links by country to government sites, courts, guides, subject sites.

Assistant Dean for Research & Education Services

Profile Image
Kelly Broughton
Contact Info
301c Alden Library
593-2709
broughtk@ohio.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip