Latin American Studies - Home

Introduction

Market Otavalo, Ecuador (Photo: Dan Stephens)A guide intended for students and researchers interested in Latin America. Information on resources found at Ohio University Libraries and other outside sources and institutions are included.

Further information on general library use and the available resources such as citing sources, using the online catalog, various "how to videos", library subject guides, requesting a book through OhioLINK, can be found at the library homepage.

Ohio students have access to resources from over 30 universitites and other instiutions through the OhioLINK Consortium. Students may borrow print books and access over 100,000 electronic books and 20 million journal articles. Please visit https://ohiolink.edu/student for further information.

For additional assistance and contact information for topics and questions related to Latin America please click on the contact/need help tab on the left side of the page.

 

Market, Otavalo, Ecuador (Photo: Dan Stephens)

ALICE Catalog, OhioLINK Catalog, and WorldCat

1. Start here: ALICE Library Catalog...

 
  • Includes books, videos, magazine, journal, and newspaper titles and more in ALL Ohio University campus libraries, plus the Library Annex.
  • Does not include: individual articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • Look for Location, Call Number, and Status. AVAILABLE means it should be here.
  • Use Request button in ALICE as needed.

2. Can't find it in ALICE? Try OhioLINK...



 
  • Access to tens of millions of items from around the state.
  • Quick, easy, and free borrowing; see table of borrowing information.
  • If you're using ALICE, click on the Request button in ALICE button to go there.
  • Use  Request button in OhioLINKto get items from OhioLINK. Delivery usually within 3-4 days.

3. Can't get it from OhioLINK? Try WorldCat...

  • Covers thousands of libraries from around the world.
  • Cannot borrow directly in WorldCat. Use information there to complete an Interlibrary Loan request.
Loading

Oxford Bibliographies: Latin America Studies

Latin American MapThe Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies provides an online annotated bibliography that provides access to a wide variety of scholarship related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles include an introduction by a leading scholar in the field and serve as a fine guide to the current scholarship. Original commentaries and annotated references are provided. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes history, literature, art, film, war and revolution, politics, slavery, sociology, gender, indigenous cultures and health.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

Confidential Print Latin America, 1833-1969

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture