Islam - Start Here

Basic Resources for Islamic Studies, and for CLWR 3330/5330, CLWR 4330/5420, and CLWR 4340/5430

Introduction

Mecca

This Guide is designed for use by students in several courses on, taught by Dr. Aaron Glaim

  • CLWR 3330/5330: Introduction to Islam
  • CLWR 4330/5420: Political Islam
  • CLWR 4340/5430: Sufism-Mysticism and Asceticism in Islam 

Its purpose is to provide resources and tips for doing research projects for these classes.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies

Oxford bibliographies online logoThe Oxford Bibliography on Islamic Studies is a wonderful place to start exploring a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

A word of warning: it does not include "everything"! We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.