This is the "Start Here" page of the "Islam" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Islam   Tags: islam, religion, world_religions  

Research help for three courses in Islam
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/islam Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

Contents

  1. Start Here (this page)
  2. Search Strategy
  3. Reference Sources
  4. Interpreting Citations
  5. Finding Books
  6. Finding Articles
  7. The Qur'an
  8. CLWR 4330/5420: Political Islam
  9. Islam in the Media
  10. Websites
  11. Evaluation
  12. Citing Your Sources

This Guide is designed for use by students in several courses on, taught by Dr. Aaron Glaim

Its purpose is to provide resources and tips for doing research projects for these classes.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies

The Oxford Bibliography on Islamic Studies is a wonderful place to start exploring a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.
 

ArticlesPlus


ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 100 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, etc.)
  • ...and much more

A word of warning: it does not include "everything"! We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, use either the Databases feature in ALICE, or consult our Subject and Course Guides for your topic.

That being said, ArticlesPlus is a truly excellent place to begin your research, no matter what your topic:

Subject Librarian for World Religions

Profile Image
Tim Smith
Contact Info
Learning Commons
Alden Library 2nd floor
(740) 593-2634
Send Email
 

Ask an OHIO Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Besides the chat box above, there are lots of ways to Ask a Librarian:

Other Sources of Help:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip