This is the "About the Southeast Asia Collection" page of the "Southeast Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southeast Asian Studies  

Last Updated: Dec 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/content.php?pid=65086 Print Guide RSS Updates

About the Southeast Asia Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 

SEA Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jeff Shane
Contact Info
Center for International Collections
120B, 1st floor, Alden Library
740-593-2657
Send Email
 

Flags of Southeast Asia

 

The Southeast Asia Collection at Ohio University

 

The Malaysia Resource Center

Malaysian Resource Center

The Malaysian Resource Center was established at Ohio University in 1987 to better inform individuals and organizations in North America about Malaysia. The Center serves as the U.S. depository for books, government documents and media that exemplify Malaysian culture and history. Available library resources also cover Malaysian agriculture, economics, environment, media, art and politics. The Perpustakaan Negara Malaysia (National Library of Malaysia) collects and ships library resources to the Center each year. These materials are available to Ohio University students and faculty, as well as outside researchers and organizations through interlibrary and document delivery services. The Head of the Ohio University Southeast Asia Collection also serves as the Coordinator of the Malaysian Resource Center.

The staff is happy to assist with research inquiries related to Malaysia. For further information, please contact Jeffrey Ferrier, Head, Southeast Collection, at ferrier@ohio.edu.

 

 

Marion Alden Southeast Asia Fine Arts Collection


Marion Alden CollectionTh
e Marion Alden Southeast Asia Fine Arts Endowment was established in 1986 by Dr. Vernon R. Alden, former President of Ohio University (1962-1969) as a gift to his wife, Marion Parson Alden, on the occasion of their 35th wedding anniversary. The endowment supports the acquisition of fine arts materials for the Southeast Asia Collection.  Throughout her life, Marion Alden was an enthusiast and avid patron of the arts. She was a member of the Arts Council at MIT, the Arts Advisory Board at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, a trustee of Ohio University's Kennedy Museum of Art and the American Repertory Theater, and a member of the Boston Symphony Orchestra Volunteers.

For additional information about the Marion Alden Southeast Asia Fine Arts Collection, please contact Jeff Ferrier.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

David K. Wyatt Thai Collection

In October 2005, Ohio University Libraries purchased of the private library collection of the late Cornell University professor David K.Wyatt. The collection, consisting of roughly 15,000 volumes, about half of which are inThai, includes most of the standard works on Thailand and Southeast Asia in general, a substantial number of Thai royal chronicles, the greater part of King Chulalongkorn’s (1868-1910) diaries and letters, and an extensive array of monographs, memoirs and cremation volumes. The acquisition of the Wyatt collection, one of the largest private library collections ever acquired by Ohio University’s Alden library, greatly increases the scale and scope of the Southeast Asia Collection's holdings on mainland Southeast Asia.

For further information about the David K. Wyatt Thai Collection, please contact Jeffrey Shane.


 

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip