This is the "General Reference Tools" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ohio University home page Library home page ALICE online catalog InfoTree front page Frequently Asked Questions Library home page Ask a Librarian Library Instant Message service Library chat service Library phone numbers Email a librarian Library Skype service Make an appointment with a librarian

Admin Sign In 

Classics  Tags: classics classical_studies ancient_history ancient_world greece rome roman  

Researching the Ancient Greco-Roman World
Last update: Dec 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/classics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Reference Tools             Print Page
  
 

Using Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias such as those listed on this page can be great places go start your research. My rule of thumb is the less you know about a subject, the more useful it may be to start by reading a few encyclopedia articles on the topic.

And don't read just for the content of the articles themselves: at the end of many encyclopedia articles you can find brief listings of books, articles, etc. for more information on the topic at hand.

 

Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • New Pauly Online  
    Brief entries on all aspects of ancient Greece and Rome, from the Aegean Bronze Age to Late Antiquity. Originally in German; English language articles currently (March 2009) into the letter "S."
  • Oxford Classical Dictionary  
    Contains brief entries on all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity: Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
    A collection of several reference tools on classical antiquity, including the Oxford Classical Dictionary (different interface than the link above--take you pick), the Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, the Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary, and several others.
 

Places

The major atlas for the Greco-Roman world is the Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World. This lavish, oversized volume contains 102 color topographic maps (many double spreads) and covering territory, from the Atlantic Ocean  to Afghanistan and western China. Temporally, it covers the period from 1,000 BC/BCE to AD/CE 650.


Ancient places shown on Google Maps.

Other

  • Brill's New Pauly: Chronologies of the Ancient World--Names, Dates and Dynasties  
    Comprehensive, up-to-date listing of emperors, kings, princes, etc. from a large number of ancient societies. Includes Egypt, Mesopotamia, Israel, Anatolia, Greece, Rome, and many others. A very convenient source for discovering "who ruled when."
  • Diophant Ancient Measures Converter  
    Reference tables for converting ancient measures of area, distance, liquids and dry materials, numerals, etc. into modern measurement systems. Available as a set of PDF files from the site, or a downloadable program for Windows.
 
 

Getting Help

Not seeing the above chat box? Download Flash.

Besides the Meebo chat box above, there are lots of ways to Ask a Librarian:

Other Sources of Help:

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait