This is the "Start Here" page of the "Classics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Researching the Ancient Greco-Roman World
Last Updated: Mar 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/classics Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Contents

The Parthenon

This Guide is designed to be an easy introduction to both library and online sources for the study of Classics at Ohio University. It is not the be-all and end-all of sites--but it is a good starting point.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

 

Departmental Website

The Department of Classics and World Religions is located on the 2nd floor of Ellis Hall. Information about the department, the course offerings, programs of study, faculty, and more can be found on the department's website.

 

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics

The Oxford Bibliogaphy online for Classics, is a wonderful source for starting to explore a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.
 

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 100 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

A word of warning: it does not include "everything"! We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.

 

Just for Fun

Subject Librarian for Classical Studies

Profile Image
Tim Smith
Contact Info
Learning Commons,
Alden Library
(740) 593-2634
Send Email
 

Ask an OHIO Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Besides the chat box above, there are lots of ways to Ask a Librarian:

Other Sources of Help:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip