Classics - Start Here

Researching the Ancient Greco-Roman World

Digital Loeb Classical Library

Digital Loeb Classical LibraryThis is the online edition of the Loeb Classical Library, a series of more than 500 volumes encompassing most of the surviving works of Greek and Roman literature, with original texts and English Translations on facing pages.

Key features include:

  • Single- and dual-language reading modes
  • Sophisticated Bookmarking and Annotation features
  • Tools for sharing Bookmarks and Annotations
  • Greek keyboard
  • User account and My Loeb content saved in perpetuity
  • Intuitive Search and Browse
  • Inclusion of every Loeb volume in print
  • Regular uploading of new and revised volumes

Here's a lengthy review, which also includes numerous suggestions of ways to maximize the usefulness of the series.

Introduction

Greek vaseThis Guide is designed to be an easy introduction to both library and online sources for the study of Classics at Ohio University. It is not the be-all and end-all of sites--but it is a good starting point.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use them.

Start with the sources below and then go on to other pages in this Guide for additional sources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics

Oxford Bibliographies Online - ClassicsThe Oxford Bibliography online for Classics, is a wonderful source for starting to explore a research topic--or even to get ideas for a topic in the first place.

  • Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
  • In-depth coverage of  more than a hundred topics.
  • Each entry has a “Find this resource” link which makes it easy to locate the book or journal article in our collection.
  • If you sign up for a free "My OBO" account, you can create custom lists of resources that match your interests.

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 200 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

ArticlesPlus does not include everything. We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.