Instrument and Voice Guides - Trombone

Trombone

Classification Numbers for Trombone Music

M90–M94  Trombone or bass trombone alone:
     M90      Collections (more than one composer)
     M91      Original works: collections (one composer)
     M92      Original works: separate
     M93      Arrangements: collections (one composer
     M94      Arrangements: separate works
 M262-M263  Trombone or bass trombone with piano:
     M262      Collections
     M263      Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1032  Trombone with orchestra, full scores
 M1032.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1033  Trombone with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1132  Trombone with string orchestra, full scores
 M1132.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1133  Trombone with string orchestra, piano reductions

Studies and Methods

MT460  General works
MT462  Systems and methods
MT463  Teaching pieces
MT464  Instructive editions
MT465  Studies and exercises
MT466  Orchestral studies
MT467  Two trombones
MT468  Self-instructors
MT472  Bass trombone or contrabass trombone

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

Solo trombone music: sonatas (trombone); suites (trombone); variations (trombone); etc., trombone music
Trombone and piano music: rondos (trombone and piano); sonatas (trombone and piano); suites (trombone and piano)variations (trombone and piano); etc.; trombone and piano music
Duets:

trombone music (trombones (2))

horn and trombone music; trumpet and trombone music; tuba and trombone music; etc.

Trios:

brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet)

(or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (flute, horns (2))

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (trombone, percussion, violoncello), trios (piano, trombone, trumpet)

Quartets:

brass quartets [various combinations];

also suites[various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind; various combinations]; 

also suites, variations, etc.

  Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets
Trombone and Orchestra:

concertos (trombone)

concertos (trombone) -- solo with piano

trombone with orchestra

rondos (trombone with orchestra), etc.

Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings

Arling, Harry J. Trombone Chamber Music: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville, TN: Brass Press, 1978.  Ref. ML128 .T76 A7

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development, and Construction. 2nd ed. New York: W. W. Norton, 1978. ML960 .B38 1978

Guion, David M.A History of the Trombone. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010. ML965 .G83 2010

Guion, David M. The Trombone: Its History and Music, 1697-1811. New York: Gordon and Breach, 1988.  ML965 .G84 1988

Herbert, Trevor. The Trombone. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2006. ML965 .H47 2006

Lane, G. B. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1999.  Ref. ML128 .T76 L36 1999

Classification Numbers for Books about the Trombone

 Ref. ML128 .T76  Trombone bibliographies
 ML965  General works
 ML966  Construction
 ML968  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals

Brass Bulletin ML5 .B6864
International Trombone Association Journal*

ML1 .I86

http://alice.library.ohiou.edu:80/record=b4320537~S1

Online Trombone Journal http://www.trombone.org
*Current issues may be found in the Current Periodicals area of the library.  

Selected Internet Resources

Alto Trombone Home Page www.pittstate.edu/department/music/kehle/alto-trombone.dot
Douglas Yeo (BSO) www.yeodoug.com
International Trombone Association http://www.trombone.net/