Instrument and Voice Guides - Percussion

Percussion

Classification Numbers for Percussion Music

Percussion Works for one performer:

 M146  Drum(s), including timpani, drum set, side drum, etc., and works for one percussionist playing two or more different percussion instruments.
 M147  Bells, glockenspiel, etc.
 M175.X6  Xylophone, marimba, vibraharp, vibraphone

 

Collections of percussion works for one performer with piano accompaniment

(collections containing works by more than one composer or a variety of different works by the same composer):

 M284.B4  Bells
 M284.C94  Cymbals
 M284.D8  Drum
 M284.G65  Glockenspiel
 M284.P4  Percussion (one percussionist playing two or more different percussion instruments)
 M284.T5  Timpani
 M284.X9  Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone

 

Separate percussion works for one performer with piano accompaniment

(one work by one composer):

 M285.B4  Bells
 M285.C94  Cymbals
 M285.D8  Drum
 M285.G65  Glockenspiel
 M285.P4  Percussion
 M285.T5  Timpani
 M285.X9  Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone

 

 Works for all percussionists or percussion and a combination of other instruments:

 M298  Duets
 M340–344  Trios with piano
 M385  Trios without piano
 M445–449  Quartets with piano
 M485  Quartets without piano
 M545–549  Quintets with piano
 M585  Quintets without piano
 M645–649  Sextets with piano
 M685  Sextets without piano
 M745–749  Septets with piano
 M785  Septets without piano
 M845–849  Octets with piano
 M885  Octets without piano
 M945–949  Nonets with piano
 M985  Nonets without piano

 

Percussion solo with orchestral accompaniment:

 M1038  Percussion with orchestra (full scores)
 M1039  Percussion with orchestra (piano reductions)
 M1039.4.X9  Xylophone with orchestra (piano reductions)
 M1138  Percussion with string orchestra (full scores)
 M1139  Percussion with string orchestra (piano reductions)

Percussion Instruction and Method books; Studies; Orchestral Excerpts and Parts

 MT655–656  General
 MT660  Timpani
 MT662  Drum, bass, drum, snare, drum, etc., including drum set and instruction for the entire batterie
 MT663  Bongo, conga drums
 MT664  Tabla
 MT719  Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone
 MT722  Implements put to musical use (e.g., kitchen utensils)

Classification Numbers for Books on Percussion

Reference books:

ML102.P4  Percussion dictionaries and encyclopedias
ML128.P23  Percussion bibliographies

 

Books on percussion history and criticism:

ML1030  General
ML1035  Drums including drum set
ML1036  Timpani
ML1038  Other percussion instruments alphabetically: arará, atabaque, batá, bodhrán, bonkó, bronze drum, ceṇḍa, dhimay, kotsuzumi, mridanga, nāykhim, pung, rebana, santūr, steel drum, tabla, tupan
ML1039  Bells, carillons, gongs, chimes, including change ringing, peals, etc.
ML1048  Xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, etc.
ML1049  All other percussion instruments not mentioned in ML1038

Selected Dictionaries and Bibliographies

Adato, Joseph, and George Judy, ed. The Percussionist's Dictionary: Translations, Descriptions, and Photographs of Percussion Instruments from around the World. Melville, NY: Belwin-Mills, 2000. Ref. ML102 .P4 A3 2000

Bajzek, Dieter. Percussion: An Annotated Bibliography with Special Emphasis on Contemporary Notation and Performance. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1988. Ref. ML128.P23 B34 1988

Beck, John H., ed. Encyclopedia of Percussion. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2007. Ref. ML102.P4 E5 2014

Lang, Morris, and Larry Spivack. Dictionary of Percussion Terms: As Found in the Symphonic Repertoire. New York: Carl Fischer, 2000. Ref. ML102 .P4 L25 2000