Instrument and Voice Guides - Clarinet

Clarinet

Classification Numbers for Clarinet Music

M70–M74  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet alone:
     M70      Collections (more than one composer)
     M71      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M72      Original works: Separate
     M73      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M74      Arrangements: Separate works
 M248–M252  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with piano accompaniment:
     M248      Collections (more than one composer)
     M249      Original works: Collections (one composer)
     M250      Original works: Separate
     M251      Arrangements: Collections (one composer)
     M252      Arrangements: Separate works
 M288–M289  Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds):
     M288      Collections
     M289      Separate works
 M290–M291  Duets—one stringed and one wind Instrument
 M296–M297  Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument
 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument
 M355–M359  Three wind instruments
 M360–M364  Three stringed and wind instruments
 M375–M379  Three wind and plucked instruments

 

Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Concertos and similar pieces:

 M1024  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, full scores
 M1024.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1025  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with orchestra, piano reductions
 M1124  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, full scores
 M1124.5  Cadenzas for such works
 M1125  Clarinet or bass (alto, basset, etc.) clarinet with string orchestra, piano reductions

Clarinet Studies and Methods

Clarinet studies and methods: 

 MT380  General works
 MT382  Systems and methods
 MT383  Teaching pieces
 MT384  Instructive editions
 MT385  Studies and exercises
 MT386  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
 MT387  Two clarinets
 MT388  Self-instructors

 

Bass clarinet studies and methods:

MT392  General works
MT392.2  Systems and methods
MT392.3  Studies and exercises
MT392.4  Orchestral studies (excerpts)
MT392.5  Teaching pieces
MT392.6  Instructive editions
MT392.7  Two bass clarinets
MT392.8  Self-instructors

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

Solo clarinet music: sonatas (clarinet); suites (clarinet); variations (clarinet); etc.; clarinet music
Clarinet and piano music: rondos (clarinet and piano); sonatas (clarinet and piano); suites (clarinet and piano); variations (clarinet and piano); etc.; clarinet and piano music
Duets:

clarinet music (clarinets (2))

bassoon and clarinet musicclarinet and horn music; clarinet and oboe music; etc.

Trios:

woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute); (or other combinations)

wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations] e.g., wind trios (clarinet, flute, trumpet), wind trios (clarinet, trombone, trumpet)

trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (viola, clarinet (2)), trios (clarinet, trombone, percussion), trios (clarinet, harp, celesta)

Quartets:

woodwind quartets [various combinations];

also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc.

wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind instruments, various combinations];

also suites, variations, etc.

  Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.
Clarinet and Orchestra:

concertos (clarinet)

concertos (clarinet) -- solo with piano

clarinet with orchestra

rondos (clarinet with orchestra), etc.

Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings

Rehfeldt, Phillip. New Directions for Clarinet, rev. ed. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1994. ML945 .R43 1994

Rendall, F. Geoffrey. The Clarinet: Some Notes Upon Its History and Construction, 3d ed., rev. New York: W. W. Norton, 1971. ML946.R4 1971

Stein, Keith. The Art of Clarinet Playing. Evanston, IL: Summy-Birchard, 1958. MT380 .S84x

Thurston, Frederick. Clarinet Technique, 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1977. MT380.T5 1964

Weston, Pamela. Clarinet Virtuosi of Today. Baldock, England: Egon, 1989. ML399.W482 1989x

________. Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past. London: Hale, 1971 ML399 .W48

________. More Clarinet Virtuosi of the Past. London: by the author, 1977. ML399.W49

Classification Numbers for Books about the Clarinet

Ref. ML128 .C58  Clarinet bibliographies
 ML945  General works
 ML946  Construction
 ML948  Music and playing

Selected Periodicals

The Clarinet (1973--)  ML1 .C787
 Clarinet and Saxophone (1986-1988)  ML5 .C57

Selected Internet Resources

 International Clarinet Association  www.clarinet.org