Instrument and Voice Guides - Brass

Brass

Classification Numbers

 M315–M319  Piano and two wind instruments
 M320–M324  Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
 M335–M339  Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument

 

Trios:

 M355  Collections (both original and arranged works)
 M356  Original works: Collections
 M357  Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass)
 M357.4  Original works: Separate -- Brass only
 M358  Arrangements: Collections
 M359  Arrangements: Separate works
 M375–M379  Wind and plucked instruments
 M380–M384  Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

 

Quartets:

 M400–M409  Organ or reed organ and three other instruments
 M415–M419  Piano and three wind instruments
 M435–M439  Piano and three wind and plucked instruments
 M440–M444  Piano and three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments
 M455  Wind instruments only: Collections (both original and arranged works)
 M456  Original works: Collections
 M457  Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass)
 M457.4  Original works: Separate -- Brass only
 M458  Arrangements: Collections
 M459  Arrangements: Separate works
 M460–M464  Stringed and wind instruments
 M480–M484  Wind and plucked instruments
 M480–M484  Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

 Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in ALICE or WorldCat)

Trios:

trios [instruments], e.g., trios (piano, trumpet, trombone)trios (piano, horns (2)); etc.

brass trios [instruments], e.g. brass trios (euphoniums (3)), brass trios (euphoniums (2), tuba), etc.

suites (horn, trombone, trumpet); etc.

wind trios (bassoon, horns (2)); etc.

Quartets:

brass quartets [instruments], e.g., brass quartets (horn, trombone, trumpets (2)); etc.

wind quartets (clarinets (2), horns (2); etc.

Quintets: brass quintets [instruments], e.g., brass quintets (horn, trombone, trumpets (2), tuba); etc.
  Similar patterns for sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

Selected Bibliography

Anderson, Paul and Lisa Ormston Bontrager, comps. Brass  Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1987. Ref. ML128 .W5 A57 1987

Brass Anthology: A Collection of Brass Articles Published in The Instrumentalist Magazine from 1946 to 1999. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Publishing Company, 1999.  MT418 .B87 1999

Selected Internet Resources

Brass Excerpts http://www.brassexcerpts.com/
Historic Brass Society http://www.historicbrass.org/