Microbiology ResourcesEcology and Evolutionary Biology ResourcesCell Biology and PhysiologyNeurobiology ResourcesData and Analysis Tooks
This is the "Finding Articles" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Resources for Faculty and Students in Biological Sciences
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/biosci Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Biological Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Andrew Stuart
Logo - AIMLogo - MSNLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
206 Alden Library
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
740-593-2698
Send Email
 
 

Biology Databases

Major article database for the life sciences. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. 

Other useful databases:

Indexes journal literature and conference proceedings in life sciences, physical sciences, and engineering. Science Citation Index, also called Web of Science, can be helpful for multidisciplinary topics that span science and engineering.
 
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations from biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
 
 

Relevant Journals

 A Listing of the Biological Sciences Journals from the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
 

Searchable full-text journals, from their first year until about 5 years ago. The link goes to a browseable list of available ecology journals.

 A listing of the Ecology Journals from the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
 

Searchable full-text journals, from their first year until about 5 years ago. The link goes to a browseable list of available ecology journals. 

Genetics Journals(EJC)

A listing of the Genetics Journals in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

Microbiology Journals(EJC)

A listing of the Microbiology Journals in the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

 

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Through our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery service, we will try to obtain items which we don't own from other libraries for you to use. Here's a step-by-step breakdown of the process of obtaining books and articles:

Books

  1. Search ALICE. If Ohio University owns the book, note the call number and location and go get it!
    • If the Location part of the record in ALICE says Library Annex or some other OU campus, click on the button that says Request Annex or Intercampus and complete the form. You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up.
  2. If we don't own the book, or if you are looking for more choices for your search results, click on the Search OhioLINKbutton.
    • If you find something at an OhioLINK member library that you want and that is AVAILABLE, do a request for it. You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up, usually within a few days.
  3. If neither the OU Libraries nor any OhioLINK member library can supply the book, login to our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery system (ILLiad) and request the book there.
    • You will be notified by email when the book is ready for you to pick up, which may take as long as several weeks.

Articles

  1. Do a Periodical Titlesearch in ALICE to see if we own the journal. Be sure to look at all possible formats:
    • Printed volumes
    • Microforms
    • Online (electronic) versions
  2. If we don't own the journal at all, or for the volume/year you need, login to our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery system (ILLiad) and request the article there.
    • We will send a request to a library which does own the volume/year you need. That library will scan the article, create a PDF file of it, and send it back to our Interlibrary Loan system.
    • You will be notified by email when it has arrived. Then you can login again to your ILLiad account and download the PDF from there.
    • Please note: you cannot request journal articles via OhioLINK!

For other types of research materials, Ask a Librarian for help!

 

Ask an OHIO Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Besides the chat box above, there are lots of ways to Ask a Librarian:

Other Sources of Help:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip