This is the "Start Here" page of the "Appalachian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Appalachian Studies   Tags: appalachia  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/appalachia Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Table of Contents

  1. Start Here (this page)
  2. Search Strategy
  3. Reference Sources
  4. Interpreting Citations
  5. Finding Books
  6. Finding Articles
  7. Websites
  8. Audio and Video
  9. Evaluation
  10. Citing Your Sources

This Guide is designed to serve as a brief introduction to resources on Appalachia available at the Ohio University Libraries.

You can start searching in ArticlesPlus (on the right), but it doesn't cover all our relevant sources. Be sure to look under the other tabs on this page as well.

Many of the resources listed here are limited to use by members of Ohio University. If you are using the Guide off-campus, you will need to do a brief login to identify yourself as a member of Ohio University before you can use these resources.

In order to do successful research, you need to have some general understanding of HOW to search and WHERE to search for information.

The set of pages on The Research Process on our main website contains a lot of information on the various steps of doing a research project.

 

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a single database which searches the contents of more than 100 databases all at the same time. Using this one searchbox above, you can find items from:

  • All EBSCOhost databases that we have
  • All JSTOR journals that we have
  • ISI Web of Knowledge
  • Several newspaper databases
  • Our ALICE Catalog (books, videos, names of magazines, journals, and newspapers, and more)
  • ...and much more

A word of warning: it does not include "everything"! We have numerous additional databases--including about two dozen from ProQuest--that are not included in ArticlesPlus. To find and connect to these, consult the Databases feature in ALICE.

 

What is Appalachia?

This is the official definition from the Appalachian Regional Commission, the federal agency that "works for sustainable community and economic development in Appalachia."

Appalachia, as defined in the legislation from which the Appalachian Regional Commission derives its authority, is a 205,000-square-mile region that follows the spine of the Appalachian Mountains from southern New York to northern Mississippi. It includes all of West Virginia and parts of 12 other states: Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Or in map form:

Reference Librarian and Guide Author

Profile Image
Tim Smith
Contact Info
Learning Commons
Alden Library 2nd floor
(740) 593-2634
Send Email
 

Ask an OHIO Librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Besides the chat box above, there are lots of ways to Ask a Librarian:

Other Sources of Help:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip