Ohio University home page Library home page ALICE online catalog InfoTree front page Frequently Asked Questions Library home page Ask a Librarian Library Instant Message service Library chat service Library phone numbers Email a librarian Library Skype service Make an appointment with a librarian

Admin Sign In 

African Studies 

This research guide describes local library resources as well as selected Internet resources.
Last update: Oct 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.library.ohiou.edu/Africana  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Where to start             Print Page
  
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias and other reference titles

Dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference titles are good sources to start your research. They provide important background information about a topic, factual information such as names, numbers, etc. They also contain pointers to journal articles and books for further information on your topic. Print dictionaries and encyclopedias are located on the first floor of Alden Library in the Center for International Collections (CIC) Reference stacks. Electronic dictionaries and encyclopedias could be accessed through the library catalog or InfoTree. See African Studies Resource Guide for selected print reference titles.

 

Recommended Research Starting Points

ALICE Online Catalog

Contains Ohio University Libraries' holdings.

African Studies Resources Guide

This research guide describes local library resources as well as selected Internet resources, guides and library catalogs useful for African studies research.

Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Listing of electronic journals available from Ohiolink with online access to journals.

InfoTree

Subject-oriented gateway to research tools of various kinds compiled by librarians at Ohio University for students, faculty and staff. It is browseable in a subject hierarchy or searchable by keywords.

Ohiolink Catalog

Catalog of Ohio Library and Information Network, OhioLINK, a consortium of 88 Ohio college and university libraries, and the State Library of Ohio, that work together to provide Ohio students, faculty and researchers with the information they need for teaching and research. Requested items usually arrives within a few days for a 3 week check out with up to 4 three week renewals.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the catalog of OCLC, provides access to the holdings of thousands of libraries in the world. Titles found could be requested through interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary loan

Interlibrary loan is used to supplement materials available in the Ohio University collections and from other OhioLINK libraries. If neither the libraries nor Ohiolink have the item you are looking for use the interlibrary loan service 

 

 

Africana Librarian

Profile ImageAraba Dawson-Andoh
Contact Info:
Center for International Collections
Alden Library Room 122A
740-593-2547
Send Email

Subjects:
African Studies

 

Your Feedback

Comments and suggestions for this research guide are welcome.

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait